The track named “New York City” and memories

AmPm
8 min readJul 2, 2021

In 2021, we released our fourth original song, “New York City”.

In the series of dance tracks named after cities, this is the second release following the song, “Tokyo”.

We, AmPm, have been releasing songs with a different vocalist each time, and one of the aspects to this concept is our desire to introduce vocalists to many people. Meanwhile, for a dance track series like this one, every time we release a song, we say “Based on a dance track…” and we felt uncomfortable because we hadn’t really released any standard dance tracks in our music career. Even though we had opportunities to perform live as a DJ, we often used dance tracks by other artists since we didn’t have tracks of our own. This made us realize that we needed to create our own dance tracks.

Also, we thought about conducting online live performances due to the pandemic, but there was a problem for ‘licensing’ music for DJs so we were crystal clear about the need to increase our own music.

Another reason is from the experience of seeing the play called “Sleep No More”, which is also the root of AmPm’s creative works, or from what we felt at a club in Berlin that “forming creativity that transcends language” is better expressed and suitable in dance tracks than in songs with vocals.

Although we haven’t been able to travel under these circumstances, we plan to continue releasing dance tracks named after cities based on our source of ideas relating to “travel”. And our second release in the series has the theme of “New York City”.

Reasons for choosing New York City

One of the characteristics of us, AmPm, is that we wear masks when performing. We came up of this idea when we saw the play, “Sleep No More”. The play takes place in an entire hotel building and the audience wears masks and moves freely around the hotel. Actors don’t have any lines at all, but strangely enough, the story is conveyed naturally. We were so impressed not only by the amazing play expressed without language, but also by the highly immersive creativity, including the sets, lighting, and sound in the hall.

Apart from this, the world says that music crosses borders, but in reality, there are huge barriers and we felt that racial discrimination still exists.

This is especially true for Asians. People judging the quality of a song by the musician’s appearance is a big concern for us.

To give an example, the are many cases where big Asian musicians have contributed their music to Western artists. As for the activities of Asians as artists, thanks to K-POP, I feel that the trend is fading away in the POP genre. But it hasn’t completely disappeared, especially in genres that are clearly defined, such as Hip-Hop and Dance music, and I still feel there is a wall that doesn’t accept Asians.

Then we wondered, what would happen if we took away such prejudices to appearances? What would happen if we strongly focused on anonymity? It was also around this time when we had these thoughts.

Our experience at “Sleep No More” dispelled our worries about how to transcend racial barriers.

That idea suddenly came to me while I was chatting with my friends on the streets of New York after watching “Sleep No More” together.

“We should wear masks”.

I wondered what would happen if I took away the appearance of being Asian, and what would happen if I put forth a strong sense of anonymity, and that’s how AmPm started and turned out, as you can see. Not only in Japan, but many people around the world are listening to our music. Of course, as a Japanese person, I don’t intend to give up my Asian identity, but I think this idea was a legitimate way to overcome the huge barrier that actually exists.

(I don’t think it’s all about wearing a mask. I believe it includes coincidences.)

Anyway, I believe that one day when we are completely over the wall, the time will come when music will be appreciated regardless of whether we wear masks or not.

There are many other reasons to wear masks, but these events in New York definitely made a huge impact on our activities.

Image of New York City

Two of us work together, so you’ll have to ask the other one (a.k.a. AmPm Left) to hear about his image, but as for me, who is writing this (a.k.a. AmPm Right), I initially thought it was a boring city.

When I visited the city for the first time, it was probably around 2007. I traversed the United States and New York City was the starting point. I guess my age and experience made me think that way, but “a big city with nothing to do and it’s boring” was my first impression. Since then, I went abroad quite often, but I think I avoided going to New York.

Sometime later, around 2015, I visited New York with my previous companion before the formation of AmPm, and I think my impression of the city changed dramatically. (During that time, I think we went there about once, but I don’t remember much about it.)

Since 2015, I think I’ve been visiting there rather frequently, sometimes for work, and sometimes without any reason… Anyway, the impression I had of the city changed from what I had previously felt. I remember feeling, what an attractive city it is, and it turned out to become one of my favorite cities.

By properly getting to know the fashion, food, alcoholic drinks, architecture, design, etc., you’ll find that this city is indeed a collection of cutting-edge things.

It turned out to be a city where I get something new every time I visit.

Favorite locations in New York City

My Google Map has many “stars” on locations.

A variety of clothing stores, restaurants, hotels, and clubs, etc. I looked to see which ones I liked the most and chose about 3 of them.

NeueHouse

A shared office.

I don’t remember how I found that place, but I thought it was cool when I found it on the web, so I went to go see it when I went to New York. The space and even the items displayed there were perfectly cool. I thought I’d like to set up and office here someday. If it is open, I’m sure they would allow guests to use in a co-working style. I’m not sure how it is now, though. Just being there will make you feel like you’re a creative person.

It’s a place where I can look forward to working hard.

Later, as AmPm, when I got an offer from a certain label, they told me that they had an office in New York, so I went to the designated office and it was this NeueHouse! Strange things do happen.

By the way, if you ask the same question to my buddy, AmPm Left, he would probably choose a pho restaurant, and in fact, this restaurant is also near here, The Pho.

Featherweight

A hidden bar.

It is often said that a hidden bar is in a hiding place, but there’re many bars that aren’t actually hidden. This bar is in fact, truly hidden. It’s a bar in Brooklyn, found at the far end of the restaurant called Sweet Science and through their door without a sign.

It’s a simple thing, but drinking a cocktail here makes me feel superior over the fact that I’m in New York. And it’s a place where I can make a “smug face” when I bring someone along. Anyway, whatever the reason for liking it, it’s a place that cheers me up when I go here.

There are many nice bars around there, and it is interesting to walk around to try out several bars. Around here, there’s a convenience store that’s open late at night that sells homemade pastrami sandwiches, but I can’t seem to always remember where it is. However, at those times when I miraculously find it, it turns out to be the most delicious food ever.

PUBLIC Hotel

Hotel.

I thought about what to choose as the last one, but like what I spoke in some interviews, one of our main goals is to build a hotel. I’ve been to so-called designer hotels or boutique hotels in many countries, and the atmosphere is of course fantastic, but I consider the spirit of the staff, food, bars, good sense in small things and the presence of “music” when I decide whether it is a great space to me personally. Such hotels are found in many places of New York, but this is one of the best. It’s a hotel established by Ian Schrager, the founder of the legendary club, Studio 54, which existed in New York in the late 70s.

The person who made Studio 54 opened this hotel. I think that’s enough of an explanation.

In ending

As for the song, I think it’s fine for the listeners to imagine freely. On top of that, from my personal point of view, I believe that it’s the strong sunshine between the lined skyscrapers. A fusion of the new and the old. A strong identity. The speed of change. The acceptance of others.

This is the kind of image I have about New York City, and some people may pick up a similar image from this song.

Also, for those who’ve visited this city, they may have their own memories of it, and for those who live there, they may have their own feelings toward it. For those who’ve never been there, each of them may have their own image about the city.

There isn’t a really deep meaning to this city series, but I hope that by naming the songs with city names and letting listeners listen to these songs based on the image of cities, people can think of things they don’t usually thing about, and create a special 4minutes of time.

Actually we, the creators of this song, were able to imagine about New York City and recall the feelings we’ve almost forgotten, like “That’s when I decided to work hard” and “That’s when we had fun”.

We’ve made a music video that captures the scenery of the city, so please take a look.

So that will be it, and we are producing music about the next city. We hope you look forward to the next ones as well!

--

--